Six new counties quarantined for EAB

Since the August newsletter, it was announced that six new counties would be quarantined for emerald ash borer (EAB). The find in Chippewa County was due to a vigilant landowner while the other finds were due to trapping by USDA APHIS.

Wisconsin counties quarantined for EAB (WI DATCP)

WI counties quarantined for EAB  (DATCP). Most of Wisconsin is EAB-free, including most of the northern half and the yellow areas in all
quarantined counties. EAB has been confirmed only in those cities, villages and townships
colored dark green.

EAB continues to be found in new areas. Wisconsin tracks EAB at the municipality or township level. Quarantined counties are shown in tan; infested areas are shown in green on the map below.

New county quarantines:  

• Chippewa – EAB found in the town of Lafayette
Green Lake – EAB found in the towns of Brooklyn and Green Lake
• Marinette – EAB found in the city of Niagara, towns of Goodman and Wagner
• Marathon – EAB found in the town of Rib Mountain
• Waupaca – EAB found in the town of Farmington
• Waushara – EAB found in the town of Deerfield

New finds in counties already quarantined:

• Dane County – villages of Marshall and Rockdale, towns of Berry, Blue Mounds, Mazomanie, Medina, Oregon, and Pleasant Springs
• Door County — village of Ephraim, town of Union
• Douglas County — town of Amnicon
• Sauk County – village of Lake Delton
• Sheboygan County — villages of Adell and Cascade
• Vernon County – town of Christiana

Written by: Linda Williams, forest health specialist, Woodruff, (, 715-356-5211 x232.

(Visited 576 times, 1 visits today)